Linkadelica


Where Lovely Goes, Linkadelica Follows
January 25, 2009, 7:23 am
Filed under: Beckoning of Lovely, Rufus Wainwright, Uncategorized

lovelybus4

I know I’ve been rather scarce in these bits lately and I haven’t exactly followed up on my plans to write more about Mr. Rufus Wainwright, but in my defense I have a pretty good reason.  Way back on a bitter cold day in December, I stumbled onto a copy of an extraordinary book called The Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

This led me on an exhilarating internet treasure hunt in which the booty was a sort of creative call to arms.   I knew the minute I read about The Beckoning of Lovely that I wanted to be involved with this project and might just have something to offer, namely enthusiasm and my legendary good taste.  Ms. Rosenthal was not only soliciting submissions; she was also seeking to fill 14 Key Positions, including nine Supremely Excellent Judges to review those submissions to help determine what would make it into the final film.  To be honest, it sounded like the gig of a lifetime.

The Geiger Counter of my gut intuition was clicking furiously away and I knew I had my work cut out for me.  I found the book in mid-December and all submissions were due by January 20, with the applications due on the 16th.  This might sound like a fair amount of time, but Christmas was coming, we were heading out of town, and my daughter would be home from school until January 5.  I was destined to be living in a world of distraction, but somehow I would have to pull this off.

I sent in my application on January 15, and then I waited.  And waited.  When I hadn’t heard from Miss Amy by Monday January 19, I assumed I hadn’t been chosen.  My heart was a little heavy for a few hours, but I still had my submissions in and I was eager to see how the project would progress.

Late Wednesday afternoon my phone rang and I jumped up, having just submitted a resume for a library job.  Much to my surprise, the person asking me if I was Dena Tarlin turned out to be the somewhat tardy but justifiably overwhelmed Amy Krouse Rosenthal.   Despite the distractions presented by my buzzing phone and rubbernecking daughter, I gathered there were now to be three judging panels, one based in Chicago.  Was I interested?

Here is the new Beckoning of Lovely site, which is very much a work in progress.  If you want to view the two films that started the ball rolling, you can do that here.

At this point I have very little idea where this lovely bus is going, and I may not have very much at all to say about the process while it’s happening.  I don’t know yet what the parameters will be on that, and I certainly don’t want to spoil any surprises.  I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to check in here, especially if I wind up starting a new job anytime soon, but I’m still sharing crunchy nuggets of Web goodness on Herr Machine almost daily. And of course I’m still seeing Rufus Wainwright in Philadelphia on Valentine’s Day, from a seat in the 2nd row at Verizon Hall.

And that, my friends, is just about as lovely as it gets.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

indeed! 🙂 loveliness all around..

Comment by Cori

Congrats!!!! This is vurry guud. I would have liked to applied as well, but I am insane and lazy. Ish.

Comment by Marianne




Leave a Reply

