Linkadelica


Dottie and Me
January 7, 2009, 1:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:
Today I stumbled upon a Dorothy Parker quote that I wanted to post on Herr Machine, my beloved tumblelog.  You’ll have to mosey over to the Machine if you want to know what that quote was, but what matters here is that I went looking for an image to accompany the quote and this one by George Platt Lynes instantly jumped out at me.
Dorothy Parker at 50

Dorothy Parker at 50

I then realized what I liked so much about this image was that it reminded me of me, which pleased me because if I have to resemble someone, Dorothy Parker is not a bad choice.  Apart from petiteness and a somewhat delicate facial structure,  other things Ms. Parker and I have in common include the fact that our names both begin with D and we share a penchant for caustic wit.

No sooner did I see the resemblance than I realized I had taken a shot of myself in a similar pose whilst playing around with Photo Booth a few weeks ago.   I could have re-taken this to be posed more like Ms. Parker, but instead I took a more verité approach and just de-colorized it to highlight the similarity.  She looks thinner and sadder than I do, but then if I lived in Hollywood as she apparently did when this photo was taken, I would look thinner and sadder too:

The Dena at 49

The Dena at 49

The above link is from the Dorothy Parker Society Web site, a fine place to visit if you would like to know more about this fascinating figure in American letters.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sweet.

Comment by Billy

Nice!

Comment by sonadina

[…] Communities, Uncategorized Not ha-ha funny, strange funny. I recently received a comment on this post I made many months ago, regarding my purported resemblance to Dorothy Parker. “Dottie and […]

Pingback by A Funny thing Happened the Other Day « Linkadelica




Leave a Reply

