Linkadelica


Introducing Herr Machine
November 22, 2008, 6:03 am
Filed under: Internet, Pop Culture, Uncategorized, World of Wonder | Tags: ,

I have a love-hate relationship with writing as much as I do with my hearing aids, because I have to do it and yet it can be quite the struggle at the end of a long day.  There are few things more frustrating than waiting until after my daughter goes to bed to write and then finding I cannot stay awake long enough to finish a sentence, and I’m tired of thinking “I should post about x and never getting to it.

I have tried various bookmarking thingies such as Google Notebooks, but I always had it in the back of my mind that I wanted to try Tumblr.  It is incredibly fast and simple to use and it lends itself to visual presentations rather than verbal ones.  I find at the end of a long day when my daughter’s had a meltown or I’ve had to do too much parental socializing, I don’t want to deal with words.  I find the writing process draining at such times, whereas I get energizing kicks out of arranging fragments like I do on Tumblr.

I couldn’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve seen or heard something awesome and thought “I should post about that,” only to lose track of “that” because I found myself pulled in another direction. Herr Machine is a place for me to collect all my little thats, an electronic wunderkammer where you will sometimes find that clicking on an image takes you somewhere else you might want to go.

I feel now that my little online universe is complete, so we’ll see what kind of synergy develops between this space and the new one.  It would be nice if I could inspire some of you to start your own tumblelogs, so please do take a stab at it and let me know what you think.  I’ll also add Herr Machine to my links, so if you come here and find tumbleweeds just click up there and you’ll go straight to my happy place.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This sounds promising. I’ll have to look into this. I’m constantly emailing links to myself with interesting articles I find, and then accidentally deleting the emails and losing the stories.

Comment by Bubs




Leave a Reply

