Linkadelica


Nick Cave is in the Hizzouse
September 29, 2008, 7:08 am
Filed under: Chicago, Rufus Wainwright, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Rufus on Nick

I love Nick Cave. I’m sort of Nick Cave’s good twin brother. We looked very similar at one point, when my hair was long. There was a striking resemblance. Together we’re like the Mormon Tabernacle Choir (Salon.com, October 7, 2003)

Rufus to the left of me, Nick Cave to the right, here I am, stuck in my dream sammich.

I’ve been waiting four years to see Nick Cave, and tonight he fulfilled all my expectations and then some.  This was his first show in a two-night stand at the Riviera, a packed house and a diverse crowd who all seemed very happy to be there.  Tomorrow night is sold out, but if you are considering whether to buy a ticket from a broker at an inflated price, I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Nick Cave is even older than me, but you would never know it to watch him onstage.  I remarked to my friend Bubs and his lovely eldest that he reminds me of an evangelist without the corruption, both in his impassioned delivery and the way he connects with the audience.  I sat in the front of the second balcony and had a perfect view, and it was wonderful to watch him work every inch of that stage.  The six-piece band included two full drum kits and there was a lot of variety in the arrangements, with band members showing off their versatility by switching instruments for different numbers.

I don’t know how he does it, because right now I’m exhausted from just watching him.  I just have so much respect for the man right now, because he could probably just go through the motions and people would still show up.  Instead he gives 100% and makes a real event of it, generating waves of energy that pass right through the audience, all the way to the very back row.

If you think he’s still in ballad mode, you might be surprised by this official video for Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!

Having proven once and for all that every subject has a Rufus connection for one as Rufus-besotted as yours truly, I am off to read in bed and drift off to sleep in my post-concert afterglow.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

