Linkadelica


How the Bleep Do We Know?

Well, for one thing we saw Don’t Look Now and we know red pointy hooded thingies mean something bad is about to happen.  Run away, little squirrel, before you are transformed into a repulsive genetic mutation!

I picked up this book because I am fond of both squirrels and vintage illustrations, and I was not disappointed.  The illustrations, by a number of artists, were some of the prettiest I had ever seen.  Then I turned to pages 28 and 29 and I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since.

Let’s begin with a page view:

I'll Tell You What the Hell is Wrong

I'll Tell You What the Hell is Wrong!

These Pictures Are Skeeving Me Out, That's What's Wrong!

These Pictures Are Skeeving Me Out, That's What's Wrong!

Now that you have some comprehension of my horror when I stumbled onto these disturbing mutations in the midst of a tome presumably meant to educate and inform young people and not to send them into a profound state of shock and despair, let’s zoom in and take a closer look:

Halt! Or I'll . . . pommel you with my fearsome webbed feet!

Do you really need to ask?

Do you really need to ask?

This is what it sounds like . . . when moles fly

This is what it sounds like . . . when moles fly

This one will haunt my dreams

This one will haunt my dreams forever

Even the fish is appalled

Even the fish is appalled

The Beaked Squirrel of Despair

The Beaked Squirrel of Despair

This giraffe needs a pair of strong shoulders to stand on

Help! I need somebody! . . . or a longer tongue.

Where's the rest of me?

Where's the rest of me?

Kitty Kitty Flap Flap

Kitty Kitty Flap Flap

Grains! Grains!

Grains! Grains!

Too pretty to be disturbing

Too pretty to be disturbing

Epic Heron Fail!

Epic Heron Fail

I suspect countless unsuspecting children had their lives permanently ruined by these deeply disturbing images, which is why I can’t possibly bring myself to part with this gem of a book.  However, there are others of a similar calibre in my eBay store and I’ve always got my eyes peeled.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

