Linkadelica


Monkey Division
Waiting for Their Closeup and Their Bus

Waiting for Their Closeup and Their Bus

Just in case you don’t recognize these two hooligans, the one on the right is Jon Ginoli of legendary queercore band Pansy Division and the one on the left is Dom (monkey in the middle, if you please).  I recently enjoyed a pleasant lunch with both parties at Joy Yee’s, during which Jon and I discussed what we’ve been up to and where we’re headed.  I mostly wanted to know about the new documentary, Pansy Division: Life in a Gay Rock Band, which has since been shown at the San Francisco and Philadelphia Gay & Lesbian Film Festivals, with more to be announced.  I am hoping the film will make it to Chicago, and since Jon is, after, all, an Illinois native, it seems only right and proper.

Since we are at least peripherally on the subject of monkeys, here’s a cake I saw today in the window of Dinkel’s Bakery, a North Side institution.  I’m sorry for the mediocre picture, but I’m not well versed in the techniques of photographing objects behind glass.  You get the idea, though:

My other favorite cake was this one, which I suppose could be for a baby shower but which I would like to buy for myself and display as an art object:

All this talking about cake and looking at the Dinkel’s web site has now made me hungry, and I’m not responsible for what happens next. Since I’ve already had a glass of pinot grigio, a Venti Iced Latte with an extra shot of espresso, and a margarita, it had better be some version of restraint.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

