Linkadelica


With a Little Help From My Fiends
July 8, 2008, 10:49 pm
Filed under: blogging, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Even dyed-in-the-wool introverts such as yours truly will jump at the chance to attend a wingding at the Sprawling Ramshackle Compound, partly for the chance to see Bubs and Mizbubs and their offspring, partly for the dependable overabundance of tasty grub and liquor, and partly for the opportunity to imbibe with folks who are up to all manner of entertaining mischief.  I only wish I hadn’t been feeling a bit on the tired and shy side, but you can blame the former on my neighbors for putting on such a rousing fireworks show the night before.  Although shooting rockets down the street horizontally is probably not recommended and was definitely not intended, it sure the heck was a sight I’ll never forget.

I may not have been feeling bold enough to introduce myself to everyone I wanted to meet, but just to hang out and set things on fire with such a diversely creative group gave me a buzz that still lingers.  All those auras, all those neurons, all those stories, all those blogs I now have to make time to read . . . It’s no wonder I’m still recovering, and I’m still not sure where the flying monkey ended up.  As demoralizing as it may be in the short run to hang out with good bloggers (i.e. ones who actually post), it could be just the poke I need to stop disappearing from this space due to chronic maternal overwhelm.

The only thing I regret about the party is that I missed Dystopia’s demonstration of the latest in peeling skin, but the nice thing about partying with bloggers is that you can figure at least one person will write the skinny on what happened after you left (In this case cool customer Amy Guth).  Despite feeling less than forward, I did manage to pass out a few business cards and have noticed a few more people have been stopping by here than usual.  As a little gift to my new friends (regardless of how you stumbled in), here is a translation of Joe Cocker’s With a Little Help From My Friends” that I can only introduce by saying “I’ll have what he’s having.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well, it’s true, you did miss quite an effects demonstration from Dystopia. She’s so talented! I can barely manage to put on lipgloss half the time, and she whips out a few brushes and makes quick work of zombification.

Nice to meet you!

Comment by Amy Guth




Leave a Reply

