Linkadelica


Summer Means Fun?
June 12, 2008, 6:17 am
Filed under: Pop Culture

I’ve been doing pretty much what I usually do this time of year, which boils down to fighting ant invasions, shepherding my daughter through her last week of school and a birthday with party this weekend, beefing up my ebay listings, working on my pop culture subject guide and battling the forces of evil.  The birthday party is always a challenge for me, as I’m one of those inexcusably lame parents who lacks that all-important talent for entertaining groups of children.

The only way I know to keep a group of children happy is to produce food, which doesn’t even qualify as a talent.  That is why this year we are moving the whole party over to the local pool and letting them splash around for awhile, then bringing them back for presents and cake.  If we’re really lucky, it won’t rain and they won’t see any ants in my kitchen.By far the best part of throwing kid parties is when they end and you realize you won’t have to deal with it for another year.  It’s entirely worth it when I see the delight and frosting on my daughter’s face, but forgive me when I say it’s one of those things that makes me grateful that I have just  one offspring for whom to coordinate these wingdings.

Once I get my daughter established in day camp next week, I can work more regularly on my pop culture web site and begin updating my resume and assembling an e-portfolio to prepare for a job search.  I should also have more time in the daytime to post here, because I’m tired of nodding out at the keyboard while struggling  to recapture whatever seemed so interesting at 1:00 in the afternoon.

A heads-up: Since the weblog for my pop culture resource guide never exactly caught fire and I found it too confusing to split up my blog voice, I will henceforth use this space to discuss the challenges and triumphs of the project.  Progress in adding new content has been excruciatingly slow, but the flipside of that is that I’ve made the site more visually appealing. through my judicious use of logos.  Andy Warhol understood how logos could generate an emotional response in the viewer, and it just doesn’t get much more pop than that.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

