Linkadelica


Twittering and Nattering
June 4, 2008, 5:50 am
Filed under: Internet, Jon Ginoli, Pansy Division, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Sometimes being an early adopter can be a lonely existence, as I found out when I registered for Twitter several months ago but twittered off elsewhere because my online chums found it weird and creepy and no one wanted to play with me. Of course once they figured out that’s where the cool kids were, they changed their tune. I’ve been posting more tweets lately, and if anyone cares to be all up in my business, my handle is denalynn2001.

The first time I ever laid eyes on Jon Ginoli of Pansy Division, he was prancing around a classroom with somebody’s purse.  My first reaction was to think “I really need to know that person,” and I did.  Jon and I have kept in touch over the years and both he and Pansy Division have aged like fine wine.  Having recorded songs like “I Love My Liver” with Jon in his groovy 70s basement all those many years ago, it took me years to get used to hearing him sing.  In the meantime, Pansy Division just kept getting better.  They don’t do a lot of shows these days, so don’t miss your chance if it comes up.  There is also a new documentary called Pansy Division: Life in a Gay Rock Band, that has been making the circuit of the gay film festivals, so keep an eye on that site and on the PD News section for new screenings to be announced.

One of the nicest things about Jon is that he keeps up with old friends, and I’m glad he’s made it to Chicago three years running.  I only wish I could make it back to San Francisco one of these days, if only to go back to Hahn’s Barbecue and see the Meat Mountain on the menu.  Jon is in town this week to meet my monkey (I jest–he’s in town for a friend’s wedding), and I get to walk around McKinley Park and Chinatown with him tomorrow and shoot the shit.  I’m already up too late to be at my freshest in the morning, but that’s why I have those ginseng capsules I bought from that Deal of the Day site.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

