Linkadelica


Feeling the Byrne

The other night I had my iTunes on shuffle while I was exercising, and on came an intriguing and very dramatic instrumental that I didn’t recognize. After two more instrumentals I realized I had no idea what I was listening to, so I came in to check my computer screen. Somewhat to my surprise, I realized that Radio David Byrne had kicked in and was playing one devastating Ennio Morricone piece after another. Realizing I had stumbled onto one of life’s little unexpected blessings, I left the station on and enjoyed my Pilates just a little bit more than usual.

I’m afraid the Morricone stuff is no longer up, as it was the December selection. However, I am looking forward to checking out the January program, entitled A New Hope and featuring artists ranging from Kanye West to Laurie Anderson. I will go out on a limb here and say that I think Byrne’s is the best internet radio station ever. It is the one place where I know I might not love everything I hear, but for sure it won’t be drek. I look forward to seeing what he will come up with in 2008, and I hope he will continue to play DJ for the foreseeable future and share his formidable knowledge of music with us peons.

My only complaint about the site is that the archives are no longer streaming but then the ephemerality of each monthly offering contributes to its specialness. Each of the archived playlists is a work of art in its own right, well worth exploring to discover new artists and be reminded of ones you’ve forgotten. While you are there, be sure to check out Byrne’s journal. Reading it makes me feel better, because he’s no more focused than I am. He just rambles on about whatever is on his mind at the moment, and it makes me feel much better about how I wander all over the place.

My love for the Morricone was so great that I immediately downloaded the first volume of the Morricone Gold Edition from eMusic. With two more to go, I now have something to look forward to on the cold winter nights to come.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

