Linkadelica


Lynchadelica

Is it just me, or is there a strange resemblance between Russ Tamblyn as the suspiciously giddy Dr. Lawrence Jacoby of Twin Peaks and Wayne Coyne as the suspiciously giddy frontman of Flaming Lips? Lately I’ve been revisiting my favorite television program of all time, courtesy of the recently released Definitive Gold Box Edition DVD set. At the rate I’m going, it should take me about six years to get through all ten DVDs, but it will have been well worth it. It seems almost incomprehensible that this show was ever aired, just as it seems incomprehensible that in 1972 you could hear the Rolling Stones, Harry Nilsson, the Temptations and Deep Purple back-to-back on AM radio.

As if I didn’t have enough stuff to not have time to watch, I also got a DVD of Inland Empire for Christmas. Since I was unable to catch it when it played here, I am looking forward to spending a couple of hours watching Laura Dern do unspeakable things with her mouth. This would make a perfect movie for New Year’s Eve, if not for the fact that we have a 7-year-old. As it is, it looks like we’ll be ringing in the new year with Captain Jack Sparrow. This will be arrr second attempt, having originally purchased it to watch last year but having been forced to change the programming to something without animated dead people.

Christmas is over, but I have yet to relax and take a deep breath. It still hasn’t even sunk in yet that I’m three-quarters of the way through grad school, mainly because there has yet to be a day that I’m not packing, shopping, wrapping gifts, running to the post office, or parenting solo. Thank goodness I don’t have to show up at school until January 13, as it will take me that long just to even begin to decompress. Believe me, you don’t even want to be around when that happens. They may have to call the crime scene cleaners.

Because I deserve it, I am spending Valentine’s Day in New York with my favorite person. Of course I am referring to myself, but I will also be seeing Rufus Wainwright perform his final show of the Release the Stars tour at Radio City Music Hall. To say I am looking forward to this is an understatement, as it will not only be a really big show in the Sullivanian sense but also a chance for me to escape and clear my head for a bit, not to mention (no doubt) emptying my wallet. The challenge is to find lodgings with a private bathroom and without bedbugs in Manhattan for less than a billion dollars, but this is the challenge for which I was born. I could save some money if I didn’t have bathroom issues, but I’ll be darned if I’ll have a bunch of strangers knowing just how often I visit the powder room.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

