Linkadelica


Vale of Tranny

It occurs to me that I haven’t had much to say here about what I do for pocket change, namely selling books and t-shirts on ebay. Although I no longer have any illusions that this will provide a stable enough income to support myself, I truly enjoy it and find it makes a great supplementary income for a struggling grad student who needs a flexible schedule. Besides, where else would I have the opportunity to profit from ranging the full extent of the cultural spectrum? I am proud to say that there is almost nothing too high or too low for me, although I do have certain personalities I will have no truck with such as Ann Coulter and Rosie O’Donnell.

One of my favorite things about my work is the visuals, such as this book cover that undeniably makes Linda Evans look like a tranny:

I have nothing in particular against Ms Evans apart from the fact that she has an insane belief system, but it just doesn’t get much more tranny than that.

In yesterday’s same batch of books as the Linda Evans book, I listed a title by Malcolm Cowley called Second Flowering, about his Lost Generation peers. Whilst doing so, I realized that although I would prefer to hang out with the Beat writers and shag Jack Kerouac, I would much rather read F. Scott Fitzgerald or Ernest Hemingway, not to mention Thomas Wolfe. Yes indeedy, even when dealing with matters of high art, my mind never wanders too far from the gutter.

On an entirely unrelated topic, I have been contemplating trying to catch one of Rufus Wainwright’s solo shows on the East Coast after Christmas, but Atlantic City was prohibitively expensive and I haven’t yet managed to score a good enough seat for Wilmington, Delaware. I am torn between trying to make this show and trying to squeeze in a quick jaunt to Las Vegas, which I do miss dearly. The main appeal of the Rufus caper is that airfare to Wilmington in January is shockingly cheap, whereas the main appeal of Las Vegas lies in neon, photo-ops, and an abundance of nickel video poker. I’ll keep you posted, but if you want to help bankroll my antics, feel free to buy something from my ebay store. It’s a work in progress, but you’ll find many items there that simply aren’t available elsewhere on ebay.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is indeed pretty damn tranny.

We need to get together before the end of the year.

Comment by Bubs

Indeed, that would be a good thing.

Incidentally, the title for that post came when misread the title of a book called “The Vale of Tyranny.” I like my version better.

Comment by denalynn2001




Leave a Reply

