Linkadelica


Saturday Random Rebellion
November 3, 2007, 5:47 am
Filed under: atheism, hooping, Uncategorized

Tonight I finally turned in the late school project that’s been keeping me away from here, a social history of A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess. It seems like I’ve been working on it forever, but I guess it’s been off and on for the last couple of weeks. The past two days it’s been more on than off, and I barely managed to get it in by the deadline (and with wonky citations, at that). Once I turned it in I was unaccountably overcome with a strange sort of postpartum depression that took me a couple of hours, some Pilates, and a session with my long-neglected hula hoop to shake off. All of this work, and now it all boils down to a grade. I fear I may have taken a bigger bite of the Orange than I could reasonably chew, with almost two pages of citations, but I would rather fail spectacularly than settle for less.

While I was exercising, I realized I haven’t been particularly multimedia here lately. It is sad how overwhelmed I am sometimes with merely life and parenting and schoolwork. The assignments suck up all of my creative energy, but I do get a rush when I write something that captures my interest. This semester has meant an awful lot of reading, as my Reader’s Advisory class requires that I read five books for annotations, plus My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult for a class book discussion. I am reading it right now, and I am embarrassed to admit how hooked I am. Picoult’s writing has genuine literary merit, in particular her facility in writing from multiple points of view. The story grips me, probably because I know what it’s like to go through multiple invasive medical procedures and my heart aches for those girls.

The other book I am reading for that class is Octavia Butler’s Parable of the Sower. The narrator is yet another teenage girl, but a very different one from the teenagers in the Picoult book. This is my first book by Butler, and I am already quite taken with her talents. But then, I admit I’m a sucker for futuristic dystopias.

I’m also reading The God Delusion in bed, which means I usually try to read the same page about three times until I finally doze off. It’s not that Dawkins is hard, because he’s actually quite entertaining to read. It’s just that I’m usually so exhausted by the time I fall into bed with a book that I can’t keep my eyes open long enough to make sense of it. Still, I try. I find Richard Dawkins difficult to watch, but I do quite enjoy reading him because he agrees with me.

And that’s about all I’ve had time for lately, apart from trying to keep up with Cycle 9 of America’s Next Top Model. After all, the hilarious recaps on the Television Without Pity web site wouldn’t make any sense if I didn’t actually watch the show.

I’m not going to post a Friday Random Ten, because it’s not Friday anymore and I think it’s just pathetic that I can’t consistently keep up with it. Maybe it’s just the rebel in me, refusing to keep up with a routine. It’s only sexy when I feel like I don’t have to do it. I am a bad, bad blogger.

If I get up enough courage and have time to clean up the citations, maybe I’ll post my Clockwork Orange essay here. In the meantime, I have yet more schoolwork to do over the weekend but at least I’ve got one monkey off my back and into the gradechipper.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

