Linkadelica


Crazy Eight
July 14, 2007, 7:01 pm
Filed under: Jon Ginoli, Las Vegas, Pansy Division, Rufus Wainwright, Uncategorized

Jumping from one blogwagon to another, since my friend Bubs tagged everyone on the planet in this recent post, I am thereby entitled to burden you with eight globules of information about yours truly. One of the rules of this tag-o-rama is that you have to post the rules, which I am happy to do, along with the disclaimer that I do not currently have eight blogging friends to tag because Bubs and his family are my only blogging friends.  Well, maybe Callai, hmmm.

1. All right, here are the rules.
2. We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.
3. Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
4. People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
5. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Here it is, then. The Dena in a nutshell:

1–I have seen Rufus Wainwright perform a total of seven times in four different states, those being Illinois (3 times), Indiana, Minnesota, and Nevada (2 times). I only fainted at one of those performances, at the Vic Theater in Chicago in November of 2003, during the song “11:11.”

2–I am severely hard of hearing and wear digital aids in both ears. My right ear is worse than my left, which is why I try to stay to the right of people as much as I can. I have a hard time hearing when there is a lot of crosstalk and background noise, which is why I prefer to be alone or with just a few people at a time.

3–I graduated from the University of Illinois in 1995 with a Bachelor’s Degree in General Psychology and a Minor in English. I graduated Phi Beta Kappa and with College Honors and Honors College and then scored in the 99th percentile when I took the MAT for grad school in 2006. However, my math skills are so abysmal that I got a D in undergraduate algebra that dragged down my GPA so badly that I spent the rest of my college career trying to recover.

4–Two of my peak life experiences involve exhibitionistic dancing. The first occurred when I danced on a platform to “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” by the Rolling Stones at Chicago’s late, lamented Lizard Lounge wearing my best friend’s blonde wig and leather miniskirt. That platform later collapsed, but fortunately I was not on it. An ex-boyfriend wrote a piece about the club for a column in a Chicago Tribune style insert, naming me and referring to me as a hipster-at-large, which was more embarrassing than exciting, but a little of both..

The second peak moment happened at Foxy’s on a Sunday night, not at the location that is now Spin, but at the old location that is now Milio’s. I was invited there by a fellow Honors College student otherwise known as the Naked Guy, an exceptionally bright student who just happened to get off on taking off everything but his socks and shaking his money-maker in public establishments. This was not meant or experienced as a sexual display so much as one of sheer unbridled exhuberance, and when he pulled me up to the platform to dance with him to Joan Jett’s I Love Rock n’ Roll, I was briefly transported to another dimension. This was one of the most deeply spiritual experiences I have ever had, and I have never regretted it.

5–My mother was born and raised in Nevada and I have been visiting Las Vegas since I was a wee bairn. At least this is my rationale for why I am eternally fixated on the place and fetishize it via collecting books on the subject and dreaming of neon. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the siren call of the glittering neon and 5-cent video poker machines. My dream job as a librarian would be to work in the Special Collections at the University of Las Vegas.

6–I have been linked to various famous, semi-famous and infamous people, the first of whom was Mike Somerville of Head East (he’s the hot one on the right in the photo). He was a good friend of my older brother, and whenever he came over to our house I would take advantage of every opportunity to sit in his lap.

My maternal uncle is Frank Fahrenkopf, Jr., National Chairman of the Republican Party under Ronald Reagan and currently the President and CEO of the American Gaming Association.

I attended both grade and high school with Jon Ginoli of Pansy Division, with whom I co-edited a fanzine called Hoopla (He did all the work, but then he always was more of a go-getter). Somewhere there may still exist basement recordings of Jon and I performing a catchy little number entitled “I Love My Liver,” but hopefully for Jon’s sake the archivists won’t dig that deep.

My cousin David Perry is Global Director of Education at Trend Micro and is a leading authority on computer viruses who has been interviewed a bazillion times on the subject and really likes to talk (in other words he has the perfect job.

In the early days of America Online, back when chat rooms were young, I used to play a real-time movie trivia contest every week. I never watched The Simpsons, so I didn’t understand why there were always Simpsons references and questions every time a certain player was present. Turned out he was Sam Simon, one of the show’s creators. Impressed with my arcane knowledge such as the name of the film that Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz appeared in together (The Long, Long Trailer), Sam turned out to be a charming fellow who sent me the script for the “Streetcar Named Marge” episode when I told him I didn’t watch the show because I couldn’t read the lips of animated characters. We traded a few videotapes, and in one of the greatest embarrassments of my life, I accidentally sent him my husband’s exercise video when he was expecting Glen or Glenda.

I was once married to the great-great grandson of Robert Ford, the man who shot Jesse James in the back. That marriage was annulled so that my ex could be wed in the Catholic church, but my he is a swell guy (the ex, not Robert Ford.

7–A few things about my appearance: I am around 4′ 11″, curvaceous and muscular. I dye my hair red when I have time, and I always leave the color on a bit longer than the instructions say to. I wear mostly black, because when I put on other colors, I just don’t feel like myself. I like to be barefoot and wear as little clothing as possible in the summertime. I wear frankincense unless I am going to sleep, in which case I wear patchouli.

8–I have a hula hoop and I know how to use it, although not as well as I’d like to.

9–I am good at finding things when other people can’t.

10–I once found $1000 pinned inside the sleeve of a vintage raincoat that I’d had for several years and through a couple of moves without ever wearing. It had been one of the worst days of my life, and I was trying to cheer myself up by seeing how much better my clothes fit since I’d lost some weight. I used the money to go to Las Vegas to see Rufus Wainwright, because I am nothing if not consistent.

I have been plugging away at my comments on Michael Gorman, but sometimes it’s an uphill battle to get anything of significance accomplished in between ant invasions and juvenile meltdowns. Now I see he has a new totally non-biased post regarding Wikipedia, which I’m off to take a look at as soon as I post my Friday Random Ten.

Mr. Bubs, forgive me for totally piggybacking on your creativity, but I figure anything that provides me with a focus and motivation beyond managing my daughter’s busy social schedule and battling persistent ant invasions is to be treasured as the blessing that it is. Hey, I’ll take my redemption any way I can get it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

