Linkadelica


Isabella’s Blown
July 10, 2007, 4:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was saddened tonight to hear that fashion icon Isabella Blow passed away on Sunday May 6 of this year after battling ovarian cancer (she apparently had been very depressed and died after consuming weedkiller in her third suicide attempt). The stylist, muse, and Fashion Director was 48 years old, as I will be if I am lucky enough to stick around until September 9. Along with Anna Piaggi, Blow managed to carry off an idiosyncratic style that would have engulfed most women.

A muse to both fashion designer Alexander McQueen and milliner Philip Treacy, Blow went to her final resting place in a coffin adorned with a spectacular black sailing ship bonnet designed by Treacy .
Seeing this magnificent chapeau decorating a casket is no substitute for Ms. Blow, but I like to think she would be very pleased indeed to be remembered in this fashion.  My condolences to all who knew her, and the finest tribute I can offer is that I shall likely think of her every time I wear a crustacean.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

