Linkadelica


Party Out of Bounds
June 7, 2007, 4:48 am
Filed under: cleaning products, hooping

This is a time of year I both relish and dread. Dread because I am forced to confront the grimier realities of my decaying suburban abode and am harboring my usual anxieties about hostessing; relish because the finish line is in sight and I know in a few days the party will be over, she’ll be off to day camp six hours a day, five days a week, and my refrigerator will be cleaner than it has been since my daughter’s last birthday. I have been known to work myself into such a frenzy that I don’t sleep at all the night before the party, but this year I’ll sleep more soundly thanks to the new man in my life.

Let me describe him, because I think you may have seen him before. He is muscular, with a bald head and white eyebrows. He always wears a white t-shirt, and his arms are almost always crossed. My man also wears a single hoop earring in his left ear, and basically he looks like somebody you might cross paths with in Boystown on his way into Little Jim’s. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. Mr. Clean and I don’t have that kind of relationship anyway, because for us it’s all about the magic.  The Magic Erasers, that is.

I have not been paid for this endorsement (I should be so lucky), but I would be delighted if somebody would offer me a free supply because this product has changed my life. It absolves me from having to carry around a bucket of water and scrub until my rubber gloves get sweaty. My stove is cleaner than it has been since we moved in (okay, the outside of my stove), and the greasy dirt just glides right off my kitchen blinds. Cleaning the refrigerator was not half the ordeal that it was but a year ago, and I am genuinely excited to see what wonders it will actualize upon my bathtub. I am shocked and disappointed to see that Amazon does not provide a giftwrap option for the pack of three eight-count boxes. because what greater gifts could you possibly give someone than more time and a brighter environment?

On a less domesticated front, I was thrilled to pieces to be linked on the hooping.org web site on Monday, as I had meant to mention them in the first place and now have an excuse to do so. They do have an impressive selection of hooping resources and some inspirational videos, including a regular Trick of the Week. This week it is the Behind the Back Pass, but if you watch that space, I’m hoping my Hooping With Cocktail will appear any day now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

